top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadie Winningham

How to Dance in Ohio: A Quick Conversation on Representation



There is a line in How to Dance in Ohio that states “Nothing about us without us” and as an autistic individual, I could not agree more. How to dance in Ohio is a breath of fresh air. The show tells autistic stories utilizing autistic voices and truly represents the characters it’s asking you to believe in. At every step of the way, How to Dance in Ohio provides a sense of community and love through art.


I was lucky enough to be attached to this production, albeit, in a small way, yet its impact on me and countless others is monumental. That being said my love and admiration for this show objectively does impact how I perceived the show's run. This article is not intended as a review but rather an expression of gratitude for the complexity and nuances of new musicals and the voices they are working to emulate. I believe in change, especially in terms of accessibility in theatre, and How to Dance in Ohio is a perfect example of where we can go as a whole. It is also the story I needed growing up, in more ways than one.


I was able to attend the first preview and had one of the most unique experiences I have had in a theater to date. I am someone who stims, especially in situations that are incredibly exciting for me. Theatres and live events have been a long-time favorite for me, the larger and brighter, the more I tend to gravitate toward them. I am in every sense of the word: a sensory seeker. In most theatrical spaces, I am forced to mask this behavior so as to not disturb others, and in truth, I have gotten quite good at that. My authentic reactions tend to be "over the top" to most, and yet, How to Dance in Ohio was the first show that I have felt not only able but encouraged to react authentically and with my full self. Sitting next to other neurodivergent individuals, we established a sense of community and care despite just meeting for the first time.

When we approach this conversation of admiration and the individual experience, I truly believe How to Dance in Ohio to be a major inspiration in how we can create a space that not only allows reaction but celebrates it. The production team took the time and energy to create spaces, so that no matter what type of sensory needs one may have, they were able to enjoy this story. With cool-down spaces in multiple locations and sensory kits readily available, it truly felt as if they put just as much care into the experience as the story. The ability to walk into a space knowing not only is it safe but that it was built with these factors in mind, especially a theatrical space, was truly incredible. As cliche as it may sound it made me feel seen in an industry I have spent quite a bit of time learning to suppress parts of myself to fit in to.


For many audience members this was their first Broadway show, and for others maybe their tenth, but collectively it was the first time any of us had shared in a moment of complete authenticity of a cast. We not only saw characters we related to but we saw a dynamic range of characters that showcase the nuances of what an autistic character can look like. There is a line early in the show that states: "If you've met one autistic person, you've met one autistic person." They recognize: that it is, and will ever be a one-size-fits-all representation. It is a moment of celebration for so many of us, seeing parts of ourselves expressed in a variety of characters across a beautifully constructed musical. I have really only seen myself in a single character previous to this musical, she is quirky, kind of chaotic, and described as over the top, but with How to Dance in Ohio I saw parts of myself in numerous characters. I truly believe in the power of live theatre, and this show is a prime example of the power it can hold. The number of people this show opened up theatrical spaces for is exponential as it truly showcased that we can and should tell these stories.


How to Dance in Ohio is a show I will never forget for a number of reasons, but mainly it was a show that celebrates authenticity and representation. It alongside every single person attached, fought to put a show up that loudly and boldly understands its identity and purpose. The feeling of shared, unfiltered, joy with the people in that room each and every time I saw the show is a feeling I long for and hope to one day experience again.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page